Design a site like this with
Get started

Kansas Agri-Women Honored at National Convention

Group receives mini-grant for its “One Kansas Farmer Feeds” project.

 Members of Kansas Agri-Women (KAW) were recognized at the 44th national convention of American Agri-Women (AAW), held recently in Tigard, Oregon. Jean Goslin of Dwight, Kansas, received the LEAVEN award, the national organization’s highest honor for members.

Kansas Agri-Women member Jean Goslin of Dwight, Kansas (right) receives the LEAVEN award from LEAVEN Committee Chair Kim Schmuhl (left). The award is American Agri-Women’s (AAW) highest honor for members. Kansas Agri-Women is a state affiliate of AAW.

Lesley Schmidt of Park City, Kansas, was installed for the second year of her two-year term as AAW vice president of education. She also received a President’s Award for her service in 2019. Both Goslin and Schmidt are past presidents of KAW.

Lesley Schmidt of Park City, Kansas., (left) was recently installed for the second year of her two-year term as vice president of education for American Agri-Women. Schmidt is a member of Kansas Agri-Women. Also pictured are those who also serve on AAW’s Executive Committee: Katie Yost of Montana, treasurer; Karolyn Zurn of Minnesota, president; Jane Marshall of Ohio, first vice president; Carie M. Moore of North Dakota, vice president of communications; and Jeanette Lombardo of California, past president.

KAW was also awarded a mini-grant toward its “One Kansas Farmer Feeds” project. The project is known for its highway billboard signs and the signs are now available as posters. KAW, which is now in its 46th year, is planning to share the posters statewide as part of its continuing efforts to support its mission: “From Producer to Consumer With Understanding.” Those interested in receiving posters can contact Jean Goslin at

The following members were also recognized for their work on various committees:

  • Donnell Scott of Manhattan, Kansas: agriculture business & economics committee (food safety and labeling); membership committee (member education and affiliate handbook)
  • Lesley Schmidt: natural resources committee (land use); membership committee (promotion materials); communications committee; and AAW Foundation Board treasurer
  • Jean Goslin: education committee (rural health education)
  • Lynn Woolf of Milton, Kansas: education committee (AgDay 365 project) and communications committee

KAW members also supported AAW’s “Cultivating Resiliency” project, a nationwide effort to help those in agriculture cope with stress. The project includes webinars and interactive sessions to help people focus on what they can control in these challenging times and help connect them to resources. 

More info

Kansas Agri-Women focuses on ag education and advocacy. Its motto is “From Producer to Consumer with Understanding.” Find KAW on social media at: and (@KSWomen4Ag). 

Since 1974, AAW members have worked together to educate consumers; advocate for agriculture; and offer networking and professional development opportunities. Go to the AAW web site for more information and to join, Find AAW on social media at: and (@Women4Ag).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close